OpenRECGitHub (opens in a new tab)
The ecosystem, clearly classified

Find a tool for
the job you need done.

Community services, flexible-load coordination, home automation and protocol libraries solve different parts of the problem. Start with the role, then check the fit.

9 tools in this starter collection

Download source data ↓
Flexible-load coordinationPortugal

OpenREC

Prototype

Open-source one-home prototype connecting solar forecasts, OMIE prices, OpenADR events and Home Assistant.

Open source · Apache-2.0

Sources & what to check

Capabilities and limits are documented in the project README. Local device automations remain in Home Assistant.

Still to verify: Community onboarding, E-Redes imports, member statements and coefficient export are roadmap work. Real-device operation still needs a live audit.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Protocol implementationInternational

openleadr-rs

Documented implementation

Rust VTN server and VEN client library for OpenADR. An integration component for demand-response systems.

Open source · MIT / Apache-2.0

Sources & what to check

The current upstream README documents OpenADR 3.1 from version 0.2; earlier versions implement 3.0. Version compatibility matters.

Still to verify: No independent certification claim is made here. This component does not supply community governance or settlement.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Protocol implementationInternational

OpenLEADR Python

Documented implementation

A Python implementation of OpenADR 2.0b for integrating demand-response clients and servers.

Open source · Apache-2.0

Sources & what to check

The upstream repository describes its OpenADR 2.0b scope. This differs from the OpenADR 3 family used by OpenREC.

Still to verify: Production suitability and certification must be established for the exact deployment and version.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Home automationInternational

Home Assistant

Documented platform

Local home automation for connecting devices, sensors and household energy automations.

Open source · local deployment

Sources & what to check

The official project documents home automation and energy management. OpenREC uses it for household readings and local device decisions.

Still to verify: Supported devices depend on integrations. Community billing and legal registration require other arrangements.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Community servicesPortugal

Cleanwatts

Provider-reported

Commercial energy-community services with a Portuguese community-participation offering.

Commercial · request project terms

Sources & what to check

The provider publishes a page for joining its energy communities. Scope and availability need confirmation for each location.

Still to verify: Pricing, ownership, contracts, availability and product-level protocol certification have not been verified.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Community servicesAustria

neoom KLUUB

Provider-reported

A commercial app offering for forming and joining energy-sharing communities, with an Austrian community route.

Commercial · country-specific terms

Sources & what to check

The provider documents KLUUB membership and initiation. The Austrian model needs its own national rules and network arrangements.

Still to verify: Portugal support and comparable total project costs have not been verified. No certification claim is made.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Community servicesPortugal

EDP Bairro Solar

Provider-reported

A commercial collective self-consumption offering connecting a solar-producing host with nearby participants.

Commercial · product-specific contract terms

Sources & what to check

EDP publishes the Bairro Solar offering and an internal collective self-consumption regulation. This is the verified product name, rather than the report’s Autoconsumo Pro label.

Still to verify: Compare current contract terms, charges, supplier conditions, eligibility and host/participant roles before joining.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Community servicesPortugal

SES Energia

Provider-reported

Commercial development and management of solar energy-community projects, with published Portuguese case studies.

Commercial · request project terms

Sources & what to check

SES describes its installation and ongoing community-management service and publishes its AIA project account.

Still to verify: Prices, contractual ownership, eligibility, technical integrations and independent project outcomes need direct verification.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Community developmentPortugal

Coopérnico community support

Organisation-reported

Citizen-energy community development and technical-assistance initiatives from a Portuguese cooperative.

Cooperative · confirm service terms

Sources & what to check

The cooperative’s innovation page identifies community-development and assistance projects.

Still to verify: Service scope, availability, fees and funding eligibility need direct confirmation. Free services for every member are not established.

Checked 2026-10-12. Source publication date: not disclosed.

Before choosing a provider

Ask about the whole arrangement.

Who owns the assets? Who handles registration and network data? What are the costs and exit terms? Which product and protocol version are actually supported? Documented protocol support is different from independent certification.

Suggest a sourced tool ↗